Blackberry Enterprise Server BES Error 203 & Firmware

Today I was given the expert task in resolving a blackberry issue.

It has been some time since I worked on a device however I was took on the task.

I discovered 2 new things since my last in depth admin task on a BES platform which has been well over 2 years ago.
First of all I was pleased to know I can remotely upgrade the firmware of the devices with a simple right click and pushing a firmware release to a device.

Second I was now able noticing that a device was unable to connect to anything on the net aside from email delivery.
I noticed one of the key blackberry services were not functioning and the name which brought to my attention *MDS Mobile Data Service*

Made it seem pretty apparent that this was the source of the problem.

Attempting to start the service left me with an Error 203: The system could not find the environment option.

Okay so after that I proceed to BB KB04329 while it didn’t make that much sense or rather not so intuitive I hope what I can share here helps.

Step #1 open registry

Step #2 go to the following path KHLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\BlackBerry MDS Connection Service

Step #4 Get the path properties of ImagePath and dump this to a text file, check the path for jvmpath it is probably black, search your server for the effective path of jvm.dll and insert there.

My JVM.dll resides in:

c:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_02\bin\client

Section in bold is what I had added make sure you keep the quotes.

"C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\MDS\bin\bmds.exe" -s jvmpath="c:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_02\bin\client\jvm.dll" -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -Xss128K -Xmx768M -Xms128M classpathdir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\MDS\classpath\\" wrkdir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\MDS\Servers\VM-BES1\\" webserverdir="C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Enterprise Server\MDS\webserver\\" -rbes "VM-BES1_MDS-CS_1"

Posted via email from IT Rockstar

About noneil
Rapper turned Rockstar!

Leave a Reply

